J. S Bach : Inventions and Sinfonias


edited by David Pickett


notated in the orginal clefs


This edition of J. S. Bach's Inventions and Sinfonias (also known as his Two- and Three-part Inventions, respectively) is for the intelligent performer.

Intermediate between an original print or facsimile and an edition in modern notation, it is an attempt to transcribe the work with minimal editorial intervention. Its purpose is to enable the performer to play from a notation as close as possible to that of the source, without some of the attendant difficulties of reading from facsimile. There is, of course, no real substitute for the original, and many of the subtleties of the notation are not currently available in computer typesetting; but the present edition has the merit of being affordable.

The edition provides practice in reading Bach's original notation, particularly in respect of C-clefs. The three clefs used are soprano, alto and bass. Accidentals are given as in the source, including "redundant" accidentals. There is a complete editor's report. Each invention and sinfonia is complete on two pages (one opening).

CLICK on the titles below to see and hear sample pages

Read from Bach's notation
just as his family and contemporaries did!