Alfred Prinz : Fünf Goethe-Lieder


for soprano and piano


Alfred Prinz


ALFRED PRINZ was born in Vienna in 1930. At the age of nine he began his clarinet studies with Prof. Leopold Wlach at the Staatsakademie fur Musik in Vienna. From 1942 he also majored in piano with Prof. Bruno Seidlhofer, later composition with Prof. Alfred Uhl and conducting with Prof. Hans Swarowsky.

At the age of 15 he was the youngest player ever to be engaged in the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, and from 1955 to 1983 he was also solo clarinettist of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. In 1947 he received a Medal at the Geneva Music Competition and in 1971 was given an award for composition by the City of Vienna.

Since 1972 he has been Professor for Clarinet at the Hochschule fur Musik in Vienna, und from 1996 Visiting Professor at the Indiana University School of Music (U.S.A).

Prinz has made numerous concert tours around the world as soloist and chamber music player and has an extensive discography on Decca, Deutsche Grammophon, Eurodisc, Telarc, H.M.V., etc. He also gives masterclasses in Salzburg (Internationale Sommerakademie - Mozarteum), Switzerland, Italy, Finland, Japan and the United States.

As a composer Prinz has produced a comprehensive oeuvre, among which are seven symphonies, numerous instrumental concertos, chamber music, works for piano, songs, etc. His Fünf Goethe-Lieder (Five Goethe Songs) were written in 1998 for the soprano Caroline Dowd-Higgins.

CLICK on the titles below to see and hear sample pages

  1. Auf dem See
  2. Nähe des Geliebten
  3. Selbstbetrug
  4. Gegenwart
  5. Willkommen und Abschied


Alfred Prinz and Caroline Dowd-Higgins


A recording of the first four of the Goethe-Lieder by Caroline Dowd-Higgins, the dedicatee, and Alfred Prinz is available through Fugato Press.